New 2014 Yz450f Novice Review

13 replies to this topic
  • cory151

Posted December 05, 2013 - 09:53 PM

Just picked up a 2014 Yz 450 this morning. I caught the Yamaha  bug on a demo day out at Pala and I really loved the motor.  Coming from a fuel injected Rmz-450 Im just breaking the bike in and getting used to the different handling characteristics. Next month it will be the one year annivesary of me getting on a dirt bike for the first time, so Im pretty new to the sport.  Only real coaching was 2 weeks with Rick Johnson, learning the basics and such. 

Ive never ridden any of the the previous Yamaha's so I cannot compare it to earlier model years.  

Power: I do know that the YZ has more power (even with wider gearing)  than my Suzuki that has a full exhaust and filter.  The pull is tremendous everywhere in the RPM band and the engine starts easier and quicker than my RMZ.  Out of all the 2014 models this one felt the most powerful to me.  Perhaps it has too much?  When exiting turns on the gas the bike will either hook up and pull a 10" wheelie down the straight, or it wants to spin the rear tire. Almost like a 250 two stroke spins when it hits.  The throttle is very light in its twist, good thing to keep in mind as a little turn goes a long way on this throttle.