full face helmet

5 replies to this topic
  • iron_savior

Posted January 04, 2004 - 01:17 AM

greetings, bit of of a silly question

do any of you guys ride with a full face helmet (road type)
i have been riding my xr650 for about 4 months now,
and really think a full face helmet is better, especially with the speed and acceleration of these bikes.
i know they look a bit goofy , but for fast open tracks
and fire roads i think they better than mx helmets

i'm sure you've all felt rain drops hit your face at 90 mph
not the most pleasant feeling,
when its time to get serious i drop the visor like a knight going into battle and blitzkrieg everything in my way. :)

cheers
w

• doctorleevil

Posted January 04, 2004 - 01:47 AM

It's funny that you mention that. I was in the bike shop looking at off road helmets today due to something that happened to me last week.

I was off-roading in my street gear last week (being more of a street rider than dirt.) When i get caught in a rut and dumped my bike. The park I was in had very strict helmet rules. After about 5 minutes of wrestling with the front forks(helmet lid up) to get some traction i said screw my full face helmet and put it on the ground. After i get my bike up i look back at my helmet to see a "rainforest" inside of my helmet. There was 0% visibility from all the residual sweat that was still steaming in the helmet. Needless to say my helmet isn't smelling the same :D even after many attempts of purification. :)

Long story short. If you're on the street, full face helmets are cool, if you're on the dirt get an mx helmet. Those things have vents/visors for a reason.

• BrianVT

Posted January 04, 2004 - 06:04 AM

I've been using one by Lazer for 12 years and liked it. I'd usually just cracked the visor open a little to prevent fogging.
It took a big hit this year so it's done. It's discontinued so I just bought a conventional w/goggles.
Then I saw this yesterday:
http://cgi.ebay.com/...item=2451880372
Cheers,
BC