YZ450 Clutch issue

Yamaha YZ450F 2003

18 replies to this topic
  • Dimustrace

Posted December 02, 2013 - 09:35 AM

I just bought a 2003 YZ450F.  Once I got the bike home and started to look it over I found that I can't get the clutch to work.  Neutral works, but any gear I put the bike in and pull the clutch, the rear wheel doesn't spin (I'm not sure if that means the clutch is engaged or disengaged).  In other words, it's always in a gear no matter what I do with the clutch lever.  I've tightened the cable AND loosened the cable with no success.  I can see the cable turning the linkage on the transmission, so it seems like it should be working, it just isn't.  I'm going to presume that something's broken inside the transmission, but since I'm a novice, can anyone give me an idea where to look or what to look for?  I've got a manual on the way (here next week) so that should help, but I want to open it up and take a look at the inside.  Searching the interwebs hasn't been of much help.  Any help would be enormously appreciated.  Thanks in advance!

• Kawracr 173

Posted December 02, 2013 - 09:43 AM

It's fairly normal for a clutch to "stick" when the engine is cold. If you start it up and pull the clutch in and put it in gear then there is a problem. Once up to temp and you stop the engine you should be able to put the bike in gear pull the clutch and roll it back and fourth at that point. Don't forget to set your clutch lever gap to pivot mount about the thickness of a nickel

• grayracer513

Posted December 02, 2013 - 11:11 AM

If you mean you can't rotate the rear tire by hand with the bike on a stand, in gear with the clutch disengaged (lever pulled in), that's pretty normal.  Wet clutches drag a lot.  The standard to use is whether the bike will go into neutral reasonably easily while idling at a standstill.  If it will, it's good enough.

• Dimustrace

Posted December 02, 2013 - 11:51 AM