- - - - -

Fork brace for XR650L - why bother?

Honda XR650L Suspension Fork Brace

88 replies to this topic
  • ScottRNelson

TT Gold Member

1,317 posts

Posted November 11, 2013 - 03:48 PM

Would any of you who feel that the XR650L needs a fork brace care to try to convince me that I need to add one to mine?

I'm seriously wondering if I could tell the difference.  And if I could tell the difference, I'm wondering under what circumstances I could tell.

• condershire

TT Bronze Member

316 posts
Garage View Garage

Posted November 11, 2013 - 04:10 PM

I debated this very issue for some several months while considering a series of upgrades to my L.  I'm no expert here, but from the research I've done, for MOST riders, there is no need for a fork brace.  I primarily ride street and have no issue with the stock suspension, adjusted for preload, of course...

I think if you are riding your L hard enough to need a fork brace, USD's are probably the route for most folks.  I'm not saying there are not those who benefit from a fork brace, just that for most of us there is no real need...

• Carter Pewterschmidt

TT Bronze Member

275 posts

Posted November 11, 2013 - 04:11 PM

The forks on my XL600 felt a lot better after I installed one, but that front end is pretty terrible and will always welcome any help.

• ScottRNelson

TT Gold Member

1,317 posts

Posted November 11, 2013 - 04:31 PM

Did I mention that I'm not interested in how a fork brace affects any other bike that is not an XR650L?

I've had bikes with fork braces in the past, back when the forks were more spindly than what we have now.  It helped those bikes.

But I've never noticed any behavior on my XR650L that made me want to put a fork brace on it.

• ThumpNRed

TT Addict

3,483 posts

Posted November 11, 2013 - 05:50 PM