loosing water

7 replies to this topic
  • phil2k

Posted November 01, 2013 - 11:00 AM

Hi I am new to 4 strokes, and have only just crossed over to the dark side, I have just got myself a 2002 426, when I got the bike the guy said its had full gasket set quite recent, I got the bike home and noticed it leaking oil from the clutch cover gasket, so I opened it up and found he hadent installed the gasket correctly. I also noticed the waterpump bearing was shot, so I ordered new gasket, new waterpump bearing and seals. Now I put it all back together and I have sterted getting water in the oil. I am not getting any drips from the weep hole so I presume the waterpump seals are ok. the bike starts ok most of the time but it does loose a lot of water into the tranny. I also noticed a bit of oil floating on top of the coolant. does this sound like a head gasket problem or is there a seal somewhere I have missed, if water was getting past the head gasket I presume I would get some steam out of the exhaust but I don't get anything apart from a little smoke for the first 10 seconds after I have started it

• yellow ketchup

Posted November 01, 2013 - 11:05 AM

I had a 426 lose a head gasket. ..try starting it with the rad cap off and rev it to see if it blows out. Mine would blow cylinder compression out of the rad

• phil2k

Posted November 01, 2013 - 11:08 AM

I had a 426 lose a head gasket. ..try starting it with the rad cap off and rev it to see if it blows out. Mine would blow cylinder compression out of the rad

yeh I can see the fluids moving about a bit and it pressurises the rad in seconds so I guess its a strip down, do I need any fancy tools to do this? im only used to simple 2ts 

• yellow ketchup

Posted November 01, 2013 - 11:11 AM

Torque wrenches...both ft&inch lbs...feeler gauges...I think that's about all besides basic tools

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • phil2k