What bars for 2012yz450

11 replies to this topic
  • Mtrain730

Posted October 06, 2013 - 08:00 PM

I feel some different bars might make help me out I'm only 5'10. New too racing. I feel my bars limit me as too how far forward I can get. The feel a bend that is a little taller and farther forward would be perfect. Is this a fair assumption on my part. A certain some one on thumper talk recomendend the windam bend. But I'm not sure i explained what I was looking for in a replacement

• Mtrain730

Posted October 06, 2013 - 08:07 PM

I should have added that I'm not experienced at any of this but one thing I realize is the farther forward I get especially in the corners the better the bike handles and I feel the stock bars are a touch low and push me too far back on the seat and when I do slide forward I feel realy cramped. Any advice is appreciated.

• BGoyins

Posted October 07, 2013 - 12:35 PM

I have the 2011, not sure if bars are same. Also 5'10. Rode last season with bars rotated forward +.5 on the bar markings. This year I moved them to the forward triple clamp holes in most aft position. Rotated bars about +.2. I'm very happy with this as it moves me forward and is more natural when standing up and jumping. The short is... you've got a lot of adjustment capability with the existing bars. Experiment.

• 2-stroker96

Posted October 07, 2013 - 04:05 PM

honestly the stock bars were the first thing to go on my 2012 i hated how low they were, i bought a set of renthal twinwalls 996 bend, which is the same bend i had on my last bike and i love it, it definitely made me more comfortable riding the bike 

• zeuszuki

Posted October 07, 2013 - 05:21 PM