Dune Riding/Paddle Tire/Mousse Bib Insert

4 replies to this topic
  • HONDA NO MORE

Posted September 22, 2013 - 07:52 PM

Well, just got back from the Dunes and had 2 flat rear tires during the weekend, missed out on two rides because of them.  I have been duning for 18 years and have found that you get a lot better performance out of your machine when you run the tires in the 6-8 psi range, the issue is that you increase the chance of getting a pinch flat when you g-out the suspension.  I have been running turbo paddles for the last 6 years and really like the stabilizer bars on the tire it helps tremendously to make the rear not step out when sidehilling.  So you pinch a tire, get a flat and then ride the bike back to camp.  Doing this makes the cords pull away from the carcass on the inside of the tire, these cords will then saw/eat/ruin any tube you try and run in this tire, we have had some luck running another tube, cut along the inside diameter as a liner, but still have some issues.  I have never seen this on a dirt tire, must be the huge cups deforming the carcass when it is flat.  This gets expensive when you have to buy 2 new paddle tires every time you go to the dunes if you have problems.

So my question is, what is everyone else doing?  Has anyone tried running a Mousse insert?  How do they work?  What other paddles are you guys running?  Have you run them flat, and do the cords tear off the sidewall of the carcass?  They say that it simulates 13 PSI, and the difference between 13 and 7 PSI is a whole nother gear up any hill at the dunes, it makes that much difference.  Granted I weigh 250 lbs, so i am trying to get the most performance out of my setup.  I am on a 2006 YZ450, 19" rear wheel.  I don't race at the dunes, but we do haul some a$$ on the way out to Choke Cherry, 4-5 gear the entire time as hard as the bike will run, one of the funniest things ever on a motorcycle.

Thanks,

• Decreasing Dave

Posted September 23, 2013 - 04:09 AM