Fork seals D.I.Y?

12 replies to this topic
  • DaleRidesAll

Posted September 18, 2013 - 04:07 AM

Hi guys I'm new to ThumperTalk so please forgive me if i've posted in the wrong forum :)

Okay so to start out I will say I'm 15 and have a pretty good understanding of automotive engineering (i think) and the fork seals on my 99 wr400 need replacing, I live in South Australia so parts for my bike are really expensive if i get them from the local shop (i recently picked up 260 worth of parts for 112 in ebay for my water pump) so I'm thinking of grabbing the parts of of ebay (excluding oil) and doing the forks myself. i have the clymer workshop manual and was wondering if it was a job i could undergo myself to save on labor as i do not yet have a job. i was also wondering if i will need any parts other than oil seals, dust seals and oil.

Thanks

• woods-rider

Posted September 18, 2013 - 08:06 AM

Follow the manual and you won't have a problem. You will want a fork seal driver to make life easier. Buy an extra set of seals. They are cheap and you may nick one on your first attempt causing it to leak.

• stevethe

Posted September 18, 2013 - 08:15 AM

Remember to remove any scratches in the lower chrome part of the fork or they may leak again.

• bikedude987

Posted September 18, 2013 - 12:34 PM

don't forget either a seal bullet or plastic bag over the open lower tube when reassembling in order to not nick the tube.  And if your seals are shot then most likely your bushings are too.  

• DaleRidesAll

Posted September 19, 2013 - 01:43 AM

Okay, thanks to all. bikedude987 my seals are only leaky not coming out to fast, will i still need the bushings?

• fixitandy

Posted September 19, 2013 - 03:56 AM

Okay, thanks to all. bikedude987 my seals are only leaky not coming out to fast, will i still need the bushings?