how to wheely a wr400

6 replies to this topic
  • WR400F_Rider

Posted December 19, 2003 - 04:41 PM

Hi, I just recently got my first big dirtbike, 99 wr400, i have been tryin over and over to learn how to wheely that thing. 1st gear is way to short of a gear to try it in, 2nd gear i start to get a good one goin but then it feels like i start to fall back so i let off. 3rd same prob, 4th and 5th gear the tire wont come off the ground, i have all the free mods with pipe, filter, and jetted. any info on how to wheely this thing would be great! Thanks

• Lukejt

Posted December 19, 2003 - 05:01 PM

I'm no wheelie king, so I'm sure you're going to get some better replies, but you have to clutch it, get the revs up a little and let the clutch out. It'll come right up. I'm still learning myself. My best friend and riding buddy is real good at wheelies and he uses the clutch a lot, even to hold it up.

• Bob_o

Posted December 19, 2003 - 05:30 PM

I found the easiest way to learn is to wheelie going into 2nd gear. Riding at a steady clip in 1st (but not too fast) in 1 semi-fluid motion you gas it up a bit, clutch it, shift gears and dump the clutch. If you're not too aggressive at 1st you'll be able to control how fast the front wheel comes up with the throttle. Just give it a little more each time until you get it where you want it. The most important thing for me when I began was to learn to be real quick with the back brake. I learned this "trick" on a dr350 (pig) and could wheelie it all day. Once you get used to leaving the bike on its balance point you just shift as you go (no clutch). My yz426 will pull wheelies VERY easily by just gassing it in 2nd or 3rd and then shifting as my speed increases. By learning 1st to be quick with the back brake I have never flipped a bike over backwards on a wheelie... 4 wheelers are another story!!!

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • steveracer