Cooling system questions

5 replies to this topic
  • zkl1995

Posted June 17, 2013 - 11:33 AM

I have a couple questions. I just purchased a 2000 wr400f today and I used to ride a 2003 xr400r. I am kind of new to liquid cooled bikes and I want to know about a couple ways to protect my bike from overheating because as we all know, money is tight and I do not have a lot of money to fix the bike with. I have wondered if there is something like a coolant temp gauge that you could install or even better is there a coolant temp radiator cap gauge type thing that you could watch your coolant temps with? Also, does xr's only sell a oil temp dipstick for the wr400 and if so, can you tell what your engine is running at by watching the oil temp or is there a big difference in oil and coolant temp? Also is there an actual fan kit made for this bike or would I have to make one? I know that this is not on the make/model specific forums but I wanted to make sure that my questions got answered and I figured more people would see it on the general discussion forum. Thanks for looking.

Edited by zkl1995, June 17, 2013 - 11:39 AM.

• ekulb14

Posted June 17, 2013 - 11:42 AM

i believe you can get stickers to find max temps... how accurate they are i have no idea.

• TragicImage

Posted June 17, 2013 - 11:45 AM

Lots of KTM guys use computer fans for cooling. Maybe you could research that.

Also, riding in the desert, in tight and twisty single track I've never had a cooling issue. I make sure my radiators are in good working order, my jetting is correct, and I don't sit and idle for any period of time.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • MaxPower

Posted June 19, 2013 - 06:38 AM

What are you doing that you are worried about overheating your bike?
Keep moving, radiators clean from mud and coolant to top of radiator .
There are thousands of water cooled bikes ridden every weekend with no issues