OT- Hypertech Power Programmer III

4 replies to this topic
  • Eagle426

Posted December 11, 2003 - 04:56 PM

I have a 1999 F-150 with the 5.4 engine. I have been considering getting the Hypertech Power Programmer III to re-program the computer. Also, I have been looking at the Gibson Side Swept cat back exhaust system. Do any of you guys have any input on these ideas? The programmers have been going for around $200 - $250 on E-bay, is it worth it? Would it be a good idea to buy one, reprogram the truck, then sell it? Why would you ever need to un-program it again?

• VB_Racing

Posted December 11, 2003 - 06:21 PM

Before I say too much, I will let you know that I am a Ford senior master technician, and also an ex road racer with a supercharged Mustang cobra... That being said, A power programmer is a good tool, BUT,you dont get alot of bang for the buck. The 5.4 Liter engine is great, but slightly underpowered in a Super Duty.( I own a v10 truck which does a bit better). I noticed a SLIGHT towing advantage after installing a Gibson exhaust on my v10 truck, I would not expect you to notice any more, and probably less. The v10 and v8 trucks use almost identical exhaust, so the 5.4 has a pretty free flowing stock exhaust sytem. The Gibson exhaust sounds great, and is well made, but not much if any performance gain. The power commander may give you a LITTLE bit of gain, but I dont know if you will be very impressed after shelling out a couple hundred bucks. The diesel trucks have substantial gains with chips and power commanders, but the gas engines aren't as noticable.
I guess the point to my rambling is this:
I have customers come in alot expecting alot more than what they get for the money, I don't know if you will even notice a seat in the pants difference after putting exhaust and the power commander on. You may be able to tweak fuel mileage and maybe a little better towing driveability, but that's about it.