2011 450F chassis setup guideline?

3 replies to this topic
  • mxstate

Posted June 01, 2013 - 10:13 AM

Could someone tell me if my settings are way off or help me figuring out why it's not working well?
2011 450F, PC link, rear spring 5.9
C9/R7
HSC 1 3/4. sag 105 mm

front .495
C12/R11, up 5 mm above clamp

Valvlng was tweaked for previous owner and just a bit stiffer than stock.
I know the suspension guy who did it and he confirmed pretty close to stock

All bolts torqued properly, bearings good and greased
Michelin S12 rear, Dunlop MX 31 front. 13 psi both ends
DRD engine relocation kit

I'm a slow vet C, 210 w/o gear (+15 lb gear , measured), Mx practice only

I'm riding a sand track (florida!) and just can't get comfortable.
The front is very nervous and bike overall feel is twitchy.
I played a lot with the clickers today but just can't get it right

In some portions of the track the bike feels good and some others I am just freaking out because of this excessive reaction of the front and that tendency in some case for the rear to kick sideways....

Any tips, pointers would be higly appreciated
Thanks

I

• Old Custer

Posted June 03, 2013 - 04:35 AM

I remember reading the link bar and relocation kit don't mix well. It's either or so I would ditch the link.

If it's really soft and sandy, you need to tighten up damping several clicks on both ends. Talking like 5-6 clicks out. And raise the forks flush with clamps. Is your steering bearing tight enough?

About sand riding in general: If you go slow or try to be cautious in sand, you'll find any setup squirrelly. Give it some serious gas to keep front wheel light!

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • zeuszuki

Posted June 03, 2013 - 07:34 PM

I remember reading the link bar and relocation kit don't mix well. It's either or so I would ditch the link.