Headlight not working on 08 WR450

6 replies to this topic
  • lewis87

Posted June 01, 2013 - 09:29 AM

The headlight on my WR450 is not working. I tried a new bulb but it still doesn't work. I'm not good with electrics so I don't know where to start with this, what are the likely causes? All the wiring and connectors look fine.

• SurfaceToAir

Posted June 01, 2013 - 10:19 AM

I would start debugging by putting a muli meter on the two pins going to the light, when the bike is running. If you get powere 12-14 volts, then it's something in the light...
Also, does the tail light work? I think though they are on different circuits, where the tail light is on when the bike is 'on' , regardless if the motor is running...
There are only two fuses in the circuit- one on (-) wire and one on (+). But they are essentially in same circuit.
I suppose that the stator is the next thing to check, but if the bike is running, I think it's working, though someone else here will know better how to test it. I would think the bulb would still light, though dimly, if the stator was not pushing enough volts..?

Prob not much help there, but maybe something's to think about?

I burned my light out a couple weeks ago an need to get a new bulb. Hopefully I am not entierly in the same boat as you.

Good luck,

• lewis87

Posted June 01, 2013 - 10:47 AM

Thanks for the help,

I tried putting a multi meter set to AC on the pins of the headlight plug when the bike was running, I didn't get any reading at all on my old analogue multi meter I got from my dad. The tail light is working as normal when I turn the ignition on. I've read some things about the regulator rectifier, I wonder if it needs replaced? I don't know how to test it.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • SurfaceToAir

Posted June 01, 2013 - 12:16 PM