2006 YZ450 - SUPERMOTO - stator problem?. Help?

7 replies to this topic
  • jav1

Posted May 31, 2013 - 12:27 PM

My son recently purchased this supermoto which was supposed to be all sorted out. He spent extra to get one that was "sorted" as he HATES electrical work. Long story short- he's been loosing lights almost every time he rides within 30 minutes.

Frustrated- he asked me to check it out (I'm an engineer but not great with bikes). System "looks" to be setup correctly although the battery is small (1.2Ah). I checked DC output at the rectifier/regulator and found only battery voltage- nothing more. So I checked AC input and found none going to the rectifier. Not sure if I'm testing it right? Does it need high revs to power an exciter? If run it with AC wires unhooked, will it hurt the stator?

I've been reading for hours on the stators and stator kits for this bike and I'm not liking what i'm reading but don't know if there is newer information (many posts on the moose/electrex kit date back to 2008). I spoke to the guy who sold him the bike and he says he installed a brand new aftermarket stator kit (with lighting output) just before he sold him the bike and he swears it was "charging" although the lights have never lasted longer than 30 minutes... ever. He doesn't remeber the brand but the bike still runs so at least the ignition side of the stator seems fine.

Any guidance on how to test this to see where the problem may lie? Any better stators available these days for the '06 and newer bikes? i don't even know if he got the oem stator but from my reading... i think he should have one if the failures haven't been addressed.

• grayracer513

Posted May 31, 2013 - 01:22 PM