Starting In Gear

8 replies to this topic
  • bdub875c

Posted May 28, 2013 - 08:55 AM

I am new to four strokes. Picked up a nice 2008 YZ 450. My question is if it is possible to start this bike in gear? I am used to getting killer dead engine starts on my YZ 250. Is there a solution or should I prepare for the worst?

• grayracer513

Posted May 28, 2013 - 09:05 AM

The worst, probably. The bike does not care to start with the trans engaged because there is usually too much clutch drag to allow it to spin freely enough to light up. The clutch has to be in near perfect condition to reduce the drag enough to make starting in gear work very well.

• Yzflier977

Posted May 29, 2013 - 03:39 PM

I have a 2009 450 and it's hit or miss with the starting in gear. I have found that if I use the hot start and give the throttle a very small blip and using a moderate, but steady, kick it'll usually fire in a couple kicks. I also came from the 2 stroke world and at first I had a terrible time starting the 450. I tried to kick it like a 2 stroke, a fast kick doesn't work on a big 4 stroke. A slow to moderate, steady kick is the way to go. And if you can find TDC it makes life that much easier.

• ekulb14

Posted May 29, 2013 - 05:18 PM

Same as ^, if you pull the hot start and kick a lil it may start but its just easier to take the 5 sec and click into neutral. If its a racing concern get a auto clutch.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • bdub875c

Posted May 29, 2013 - 06:05 PM

I am more concerned with dead engine desert starts not so much when you get going. Seems like a mid pack start is to be expected. Thanks for the replies.

• Donjholt

Posted May 29, 2013 - 06:20 PM

So lost with this one

• f150jokerstyle

Posted May 29, 2013 - 08:35 PM