2008 yz450f suspension

4 replies to this topic
  • Yamaryder29

Posted May 02, 2013 - 05:43 PM

I've had my 08 yz450f for just over 2 years now. I have gradually done things to make the bike setup for myself.
This past winter I changed the springs out for the next size up for my weight. I'm about 200 lbs in street gear. After riding, I really like the new setup. So, I'm wondering, should I revolve my suspension? Is there something better that I might be missing with the stock valving. I pretty much just ride motocross.
I have been rebuilding my suspension for years, so I have some of the knowledge to revolve it myself.
I was looking into pro actions do it yourself kits, which is basically paying less for the same thing they would do. Or do I just reshim it myself?
Any suggestions?

• Yzflier977

Posted May 05, 2013 - 03:37 PM

I've had really good luck with race tech stuff on a previous yz250 I had before I bought the 450 I currently have. I'm pretty impressed with the stock kayaba suspension, but if I felt the need to upgrade I would go back with race tech in a heartbeat. Like you, I do my own suspension work and always have and comparing stock valving to the race tech gold valves was pretty eye opening. Just my 2 cents worth.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Yamaryder29

Posted May 05, 2013 - 04:03 PM

I too am very impressed with the stock KYB, but am just wondering if I can make it feel any better by revalving it. I don't have a problem with racetech, but I like to keep my suspension local and pro action headquarters happens to be local. I have also used pro action for about 10 years and have never had any complaints. I will look into Racetech tomorrow.

• NitrousR1

Posted May 11, 2013 - 06:45 AM