handle bar position front to rear

10 replies to this topic
  • Will.A.R.

Posted April 22, 2013 - 07:18 AM

04 yz450f, little over 6'2", Fly Racing top clamp with adjustable bar mounts. I'm looking for a little more room, I'm new to MX and when I ride I feel like I need to be forward in the attack position for proper balance( I;m very chest heavy) Doing this makes my hands feel like they'd be more comfortable with the bars adjusted forward on the mount. right now they are all the way aft. are there any ill effects from moving them forward with respect to handling or am I too new to notice anyway?

• grayracer513

Posted April 22, 2013 - 07:45 AM

Move them forward. You'll be much happier.

• WouldsAssassin

Posted April 22, 2013 - 08:43 AM

The best thing for you to do to your bike is to tailor it for your size and riding ability. We tall guys will need to set up our bikes different than a shorter rider. What works for you may not work for someone else, but you need your bike set up for you. Best thing you can do to your bike's handling is personalize your bike for you and your riding. Suspension, handlebars, seat, foot pegs, engine, levers, etc. As you progress in your riding you'll want to play around with everything and make notes as to how it feels. Eventually it'll all fall into place for you. Then you'll let a smaller, lighter, faster, more experienced friend ride your bike and he'll say it handles wierd but it works for you and that is what's important.

• Will.A.R.

Posted April 22, 2013 - 08:50 AM

Thanks for the help guys. the bike currently has a pro taper with a low rise bend, would something a little higher be worth trying in addition to moving them forward? I realize that is a bit on an open ended question since it boils down to individual preference.

• grayracer513

Posted April 22, 2013 - 09:13 AM