Setup/Mods for the '04 WR450.

5 replies to this topic
  • 5spoke

Posted December 04, 2003 - 09:27 PM

I'm new to the '04 WR450 and all the mods. I've been sifting through so much jetting crap all over this site it's making me dizzy.

With the basic (throttle stop, baffle removed, grey wire cut, airbox opened) where/how would I find out the right jetting and other setup/mod info that I need for the bike at 500ft alt. What about the YZ timing or any other mods?

If someone has the time and could list the whole lot in one thread, it would make us newbie 'modder's' very happy. If a search is suggested could you list "Words to search for" to save time. Thanks to all you guys who help us out here all the time. Hopefully I'll be helping others out as soon as I've got this all figured out.

• 5spoke

Posted December 04, 2003 - 09:45 PM

I got extra a 160 and 170 main jet and a 40 pilot jet with the bike. Would trying one of these with the basic mods be a better setup than the 165 and 45 that's in there now? :)

• willy_fitz

Posted December 05, 2003 - 03:41 AM

There are two main areas to focus on. Get the bike jetted properly for your area. If you go to the jetting forum and do a search on wr450 i think you will find that you will want to go to the 170 main. You may also want to consider going with a jd kit since it includes the 170 main and also has custom neddles that work very well for our bikes.