How do I lower the front and rear end of a yz450f

19 replies to this topic
  • cr8ter

Posted April 21, 2013 - 05:54 PM

I'm new to the dirt bike thing and I just recently picked up an 06 450. It's a lil tall for me, I have ridden my buddies but i was never comfortable because i can't reach the ground when i'm on it. I like to be close to flat footed on it so i need to lower it about 2 inches. I did some research and a lowering link is an option but it only drops the rear 1.25 inches. Is there another way to lower it more? Also I couldn't find anything on lowering the front, atleast without disassembling the forks. Is there an easier way to lower the fronts? Some help please, thanks.

• ekulb14

Posted April 21, 2013 - 08:30 PM

only thing you can do for free is shave your seat.
moving the forks up in the tress can get you a little bit lower (will mess with geometry)

if you have 200 bucks you can get a lowering link that will take it down (after you have set the sag maybe 2 2.5 in..)
if you have more cash go get your front springs shorted and suspension re done.

Edited by ekulb14, April 21, 2013 - 08:30 PM.

• 2grimjim

Posted April 21, 2013 - 08:40 PM

The forks can be disassembled and a spacer placed on the damper rod between the inner cartridge and top out spring. This will require a shortened main spring. The spring will need to be shortened the same amount as the spacer. Race Tech sells the spacers (1 or 2 inch) and they will shorten the fork springs for $50.