Shifter will not go up. Please help

5 replies to this topic
  • troysbama

Posted April 08, 2013 - 06:03 AM

Hello everyone,
I apologize in advance for the lengthy read. This is my first time to post and I’m really hoping someone can help me. I’ve searched a couple different ways but haven’t found anything I can directly relate to my problem. I’ve only been into dirt bikes for about 6 months and recently bought a 2007 yz450f (started out on a 06 yz250f which I still have). This bike only had roughly 10-15 hours on it when I bought it. The spokes and wheels still shine, sprockets are hardly even dirty, etc… However, I’m learning quickly a bike that doesn’t get used has its own challenges. The rear collar spring had to be cut off, axle nut cut off, and finally the reason for all my misery, the spark plug was mated to the head and broke in half. Well needless to say, after that I decided to tear the entire bike down and put it back together. There’s one caveat to the tear down. I stopped at splitting the case because the crank had no slop and everything looked good from what I could tell. I left the clutch intact as well. There was no sludge buildup or anything at the bottom of the case. FWIW, I also test drove it before I bought it and it rode good but shifted perfectly. Now onto my problem…