450 ate alot of dust.

4 replies to this topic
  • j-dub1

Posted March 06, 2013 - 12:21 PM

A buddy of mine brought his 09 yz 450 over to my place. He said it would hardly run, and backfired alot when it did. I told him I would give it a look and just figured it had a gummed up jet because of sitting to much.

I pulled the seat to check the air filter and almost fell over, the filter had passed alot of dirt. The cage was coated with it, the intake was also coated. Digging deeper I realised the dirt had plugged the jets in the carb so bad the bike wouldnt run.

So I am just a hobby mechanic and need some advice from people that deal with this stuff for a living. So the bike has not broke yet, how risky would it be to tear it all down removing as much dirt as possible, put it back together and ride the thing? I would like to avoid a catastrophic engine failure. Would a rebuilt head, piston and ring be a better move? With that much dirt should I be concerned about a bottom end failure in the future. Advice will be appreciated.

Ough ya, 1 more thing this bike looks almost new from the outside and if I had to make a guess it has about 10 hours on it. Thank you for your time. John.

Edited by j-dub1, March 06, 2013 - 12:33 PM.

• grayracer513

Posted March 06, 2013 - 03:23 PM

If there's no evidence of damage, clean the carb, the intake boot, and change the oil. Then run it to see if it seems OK. Teach him how to clean and oil the air filter while you're at it.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • YamaJet

Posted March 06, 2013 - 06:59 PM

Maybe check the valve clearances (i.e. intakes) and keep an eye on them.

• j-dub1

Posted March 08, 2013 - 12:05 PM

Thanks for the replies guy's. Greyracer, I see alot of good sound advice given by you throughout this site . I am sure everyone appreciates it, I know I do.