7 replies to this topic
  • bullitboy

Posted November 10, 2001 - 01:26 PM

Welli did a search for jetting and only found the newest topic from June. I live on the Texas Gulf Coast. Pretty much sea level. I have a problem with the plug fouling a great deal. Several locals say I am too rich (jetting, definitely niot money) and I need to lean it out. i am considering the BK mod, maybe a pipe and ignition if available. I ride moslty MX now and I am a beginner since I haven't ridden in 10 yrs. The bike is still more than I can handle, so a major mod is not necessary. I just want it to run better and stop fouling plugs. I know the starting routine to the letter and I do not race the throttle. I did have a bit of a dirty filter, but the problem persists even with a clean filter.

Secon, are pressure washers taboo? thanks :)

• bullitboy

Posted November 11, 2001 - 05:28 PM

OK, i made some changes. I cleaned the filter for starters. The pilot screw was 1 3/4 turns out from the factory. I turned it in 1/4 turn to lean it out. I adjusted the pilot jet to the 3rd clip. Left everything else alone. Al electronics checked. I cannot really check the CDI. Given te way it runs with a new plug i do not believe the CDI to be defective.

Next, I checked the pump squirt time and found it to be about 2.75 sec. it squirts about 6-7 feet out of the carb. Could I need the BK Mod? If so, what changes are needed in jetting? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

• Boit

Posted November 11, 2001 - 11:38 PM

This plug fouling problem is an enigma. Some 426's run just great and never foul plugs while the next identical machine will foul plugs using the same jetting. Obviously, there is something out of the ordinary going on. Some owners have found that the CDI was defective while others have discovered that the carb had internal leakages. What I'm getting at is that there is a distinct possibility that jetting is not your problem.

• bullitboy

Posted November 12, 2001 - 03:41 AM