Fuel Air Screw / Idle Adjustment

5 replies to this topic
  • sasarris83

Posted March 03, 2013 - 07:42 AM

hey guys i am a newbie to this site and to the wr450f i just bought. i just have a few questions about the way this thing is running. it seems to start hard maybe 8-12 kicks on choke popping on a few kicks then finally starting. when it warms up and choke taken off it idles rough and has a dead spot at 1/4 throttle. it looks to the fuel/air screw is 2 turns out and the idle adjustment is screwed all the way in (which doesnt seem right to me). if i back the idle adjustment out it will just stall. like i said i just bought the bike and havent spent much time on it yet but if anyone has a good place to start that would be awesome. also if it matters im in NY and its about 30-35 degrees here now. thanks for your help

• MANIAC998

Posted March 03, 2013 - 08:41 AM

They are notoriously lean when they are stock during summer temps, so they are really bad during the winter! Fresh fuel, larger pilot jet, adjustable air/fuel screw, clean air filter and it will be better. I would also check your valve clearances to make sure none of them are too tight. If your not willing to check them during the winter, then you will never find the time to check them during the summer! What year bike? EFI or Carb?

Edited by MANIAC998, March 03, 2013 - 08:42 AM.

• Krannie McKranface

Posted March 03, 2013 - 08:43 AM

There are several things you should do.

1. re-jet. The stock jetting is useless. JD jet kit or follow the forum FAQ at the top
2. uncork the exahaust so it will run correctly. Again, FAQ
3. PROPERLY adjust the fuel screw. You put the screw at 1 turn, then turn the idle screw till it barely idles. Then adjust the idle with the fuel screw. If it goes to high, drop it with the idle screw and repeat.
4. Test your accelerator pump for proper squirt. They nozzle clogs very easily. You have to lift up the subframe to see it work.