My First WR450F Build!

Yamaha WR450F Miscellaneous Supermoto Yamaha WR450F 2003

87 replies to this topic
  • Krimble

Posted January 30, 2013 - 03:38 PM

Hey guys! new to the forum. I just thought I would introduce myself by making a build thread. I'm mostly on Supermotojunkie, but I want to get another WR for Dirt use within a couple years.
Well, I'm a 17 soon to be 18 boy from New-brunswick, Canada. I always loved riding, but never had the finances to own a dirtbike. So with my money saved up from my part time job, I bought a 2009 WR250X two years ago, then around 8 months ago I bought a 2003 WR450F. I since sold the 250X and am using all the money to rebuild my 450F.

So here it goes. I started 2 weeks ago. :ride:

This is how it was a couple days before the tear down, having fun in the snow!
Posted Image

Fastforward a couple days after, here is one nights progress. I know it's not much, but I'm pretty new to this.
Posted Image

Then here is my friends trying to remove the carb.
Posted Image

Then I kind of messed around in Photoshop and used Mings bike on SMJ and changed the frame, and plastic colors. I think I will love it. :thumbsup:
Posted Image

Now here we are having trouble removing the swingarm pivot bolt.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Here's the removed swingarm sitting warm in front of the fireplace.
Posted Image

Now here is the bare frame, kind of dirty and small rust spots.
Posted Image

I hate cleaning! Grrrr :banghead:
Posted Image

But it is nice when things are clean ;)
Posted Image

Now is cleaning the engine.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Opening it up.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by socom_6_deahrow, January 30, 2013 - 03:45 PM.

• Krimble

Posted January 30, 2013 - 03:44 PM

Now I find why the clutch side was leaking! and I thought I was burning oil!! Haha Look at the JB weld at the bottom
Posted Image

Clutch disks were real nice. Got to have that rum and coke.
Posted Image

Inside the head.
Posted Image

Posted Image