Can't/Won't wheelie

I've got a 96 XR 600R. I'm pretty new to the bike thing, but reading through other posts I've seen multiple XR riders posting about their wheelie's in first through third gear. My XR won't pull a 3rd gear wheelie, and to get it up in first or second requires some clutch slippage. It runs great, tops out around 100 in fifth and seems to be mechanically fine. Is this normal? Suggestions on wheelies?

Thanks!!

Kind of depends on how heavy you are. I'm about 260 and lifting the wheel in third requires a bit of input. Lean back and pull on the forks. Recently I was having some problems lifting the front wheel. Turned out that my clutch was slipping. New clutch and I'm back to lifting that wheel at will.

Rider technique and skill makes all the difference.

Unless there is something seriously wrong with your XR, I'd bet it's fully cabable of being bounced into a stand-up wheelie in 5th (let alone lofting the wheel 1st-3rd) along with tons of other crazy stunts. It takes strength, balance, and a deft touch at the controls. Oh yea--and lots of practice.

I'm not aware of a bike that Can't/Won't wheelie.

wheelie2.jpg

546131136372071.jpg

Here's an XR600:

968361116930143.jpg

• Like 1

I've got a 96 XR 600R. I'm pretty new to the bike thing, but reading through other posts I've seen multiple XR riders posting about their wheelie's in first through third gear. My XR won't pull a 3rd gear wheelie, and to get it up in first or second requires some clutch slippage. It runs great, tops out around 100 in fifth and seems to be mechanically fine. Is this normal? Suggestions on wheelies?

Thanks!!

TRy getting to about 3200rpm (about a third of the way into the RPM range) let all the way off the throttle and then instantly all the way back on. No clutch. Just off the all then WOT in second. Should work in third also. You should get a nice power wheelie without flipping the bike. It's called bouncing but, you don't need to bounce but, it helps get you started.